top of page

Sharon Wang

PhD candidate

I am a PhD candidate in the department of Integrative Biology at the University of Guelph. Born and grew up in China, I came to Canada as an international undergrad student in 2008 and graduated with a BSc in biological science and a minor in mathematical in 2013. After a few years of working in the private section, I returned to the University of Guelph to further my education. I am passionate about environmental sustainability and wildlife conservation. As a theoretical ecologist with advanced training in various molecular techniques, I have developed an interdisciplinary set of skills that will allow me to succeed in a scientific environment. My PhD research aims to optimize molecular methods to better facilitate and supplement current biodiversity and long-term population monitoring programs in the aquatic environment. As a first-generation university student, a landed immigrant, a woman, and a visible minority, I am a strong advocate for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) through involvements within my home institution, community, and world renowned conferences. I was the first graduate student co-chair for the Integrative Biology Departmental EDI committee and have been a student representative of the University of Guelph GenEq Advisory group since Fall 2019. I have successfully organized several local and international conferences including the 2018 and 2019 Symposium for Women in Ecology and Evolution that attracted over 300 attendees from various international institutions in the US, Asia and Europe. These involvements have promoted my successful election to be one of the two 2019 - 2021 Graduate student/Post-doc councillors to serve on the board of the Canadian Society of Ecology and Evolution. I am dedicated to make science more accessible through Students Communicating Research in Biology Education(SCRIBE), STEM 4K outreach, mentorship and youth engagement program MsInfinity, as well as participation in community events. I believe in work-life balance and I enjoy hot yoga, kayaking, hiking, and salsa dancing.

During my 10+ years in Canada, I have experienced the language barrier, culture shocks, and differences in social dynamics. Please get in touch if you have questions about being an international student and/or about my research.

Get in Touch

123-456-7890 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
bottom of page